Self-regulation

What does it mean to manage/regulate yourself (self-regulate) and others? How does it bring you towards goals? How important is communication in this process and what helps/impedes it?

According to Tools of the Mind, self-regulation “refers to the capacity to control one’s impulses, both to stop doing something, if needed (even if one wants to continue doing it) and to start doing something, if needed (even if one doesn’t want to do it)” (2015, para. 1). The Teaching Excellence in Adult Literacy site discusses how self-regulated learning consists of three parts: cognition, metacognition, and motivation. Cognition involves the skills and habits that are needed for amassing knowledge and critical thinking. Metacognition involves the skills that allow people to monitor their own thinking and cognition. Motivation involves the beliefs and attitudes that affect and assist in developing both cognition and metacognition (Shuy, 2012).

What does all of that mean? In a nutshell, it means that each individual is responsible for taking charge and controlling her own learning. I have trouble with self-regulation. I tend to be a procrastinator and due dates/deadlines are what I use to manage myself. For Project B, since we no longer have weekly due dates, I have struggled to stay on task and work each week. I started out well with the analysis and design document and I was very proud of myself for taking charge and pushing through; however, this week I traveled out of town for a conference and did not work on anything. While I was at conference it was easy to say to myself that I can work on this later when I return. I still have time. In essence, I lost my momentum.

Now that I am back home and reality is setting in, I am working hard to get back on task. I have to keep reminding myself not to keep putting off working on my project. The end of the semester is nearing and I am running out of time. On Project B, I am working alone so I only need to regulate myself not anyone else; however, perhaps if I had a partner it would help to keep me in check. I do have to say though that writing this blog post is a step in the right direction and I will get my Project B done and submitted on time.

Throughout the instructional design process, I have learned that communication is key. Not only do I need to communicate with my client each week but also I need to communicate with myself. Taking time to process my thoughts and either speak or write them is an essential part of the instructional design process. It is especially important that I do this before I speak with my client. How can I expect to communicate effectively with my client if I am unsure of what I really want to say?

I have learned a lot this semester regarding instructional design and myself. I now know that when it comes to projects, whether school or work related, I need to make a schedule with hard deadlines and stick with it. If I do not set up my own deadlines, I will fall back in my old pattern of procrastination. With that in mind, it is time for me to end this post and work on my project.

References

Shuy, T. (2012). Fact sheet: Self-regulated learning. Teaching Excellence in Adult Literacy. Retrieved from https://teal.ed.gov/tealguide/selfregulated

Tools of the Mind. (2015). What is self-regulation? Retrieved from http://www.toolsofthemind.org/philosophy/self-regulation/

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Through stories

Scott's blog about teaching, learning, games, film...

ITFORUM Jobs

Part of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology

JHartpence

learning & development

E Learning with Ali

Ideas, thoughts, research, and reflections on learning technologies, instructional design, and online learning

DominikMikula.com

Entrepreneur, Globetrotter, Thrill Seeker...

idapriyanto

one step ahead

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Brain2Overloaded

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Communities of Learners

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Ke'shun's Blog

"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school." Albert Einstein

