Light ahead

Rays of the sun

(Ong, n. d.)

Here we are in week 10 of the semester and there are only a few weeks remaining before the semester ends. I have been diligently working on getting the last of the materials for my online course finished and ready to go. I’ve developed and created all of my course modules, which includes the online tutorials, the videos, the discussion posts, the readings, the quizzes, the final project, the worksheets, the peer reviews, and the rubrics. This was the bulk of my course and made for a busy semester!

I still need to finalize the job aid for my course and submit it to my peer reviewer for feedback. Then, once I’ve revised it, I’ll add it to the course homepage. After that, the only thing that I should need to do to finish my course is to publish it. Based upon the feedback I’ve received from my peer reviewer and my work colleague, I think it’s going to turn out to be a good course that will be useful for my current job. It was my goal to create something that can be used outside of my UNT course.

For the most part, I have been very lucky. Aside from some confusion on adding me to her course, my peer reviewer has been very responsive with her feedback and it has been both helpful and positive. I haven’t experienced any major design challenges as the biggest change I had to make was to link the tutorials in Canvas instead of embedding them. It was an easy fix and didn’t’ require any other major changes to the course.

I believe that I will be able to meet my original timeline for completion. In fact, if things continue as they have been, I should be able to finish ahead of schedule, which lifts a huge weight from my shoulders. At the beginning of the semester, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to accomplish everything I wanted within the expected time frame. My plan is to use any extra time to tweak the parts of my course that need it based upon feedback from my reviewer and instructor.

I won’t be able to implement or evaluate the course within this semester. The main reason being that the course is designed to take place over 16 weeks and we are already in week 10 of the semester. By the time I’ll receive the final feedback on my course and the job aid, it will be week 13 and too late to expect someone to attempt to complete the course in its entirety. When I do have the time to implement and evaluate it, I want the people who take the course to have the full time they need to work through the course materials. I also want to be able to devote enough time to revise it based upon their feedback. My hope is to use actual business students from my university. I am looking forward to hearing what students think about the course content and hope that they find the course helpful.

Reference

Ong, M. (n. d.) Rays of the sun [Digital image]. Retrieved from http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/pictures/190000/velka/rays-of-the-sun-1471093859xcl.jpg

Categories: LTEC 5510 | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Through stories

Scott's blog about teaching, learning, games, film...

ITFORUM Jobs

Part of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology

JHartpence

learning & development

E Learning with Ali

Ideas, thoughts, research, and reflections on learning technologies, instructional design, and online learning

DominikMikula.com

Entrepreneur, Globetrotter, Thrill Seeker...

idapriyanto

one step ahead

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Brain2Overloaded

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Communities of Learners

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Ke'shun's Blog

"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school." Albert Einstein

