Oh, the final countdown

number-32258_960_720

(Pixabay, 2016)

As I was contemplating what to write for my final blog post for this course, the song The Final Countdown started playing in my head; hence, the title of this post. There are only about four weeks left in the semester and they are jam packed with to do items. I am happy to say that I am fully finished developing my Canvas course and the job aid to complement it. I credit starting early in the semester with being able to finish on time and ahead of schedule. I admit it made for some painful weeks early on but that brief pain made the rest of the semester progress much more smoothly. I wasn’t rushing to try and finish everything. I have been able to take my time and really look at my course to provide some enhancements.

A recent challenge I encountered with my Canvas course is customization. Since we are using the free teacher accounts for Canvas, we don’t have access to the administrative side of Canvas to modify the default Canvas colors and fonts for much of our content. I have found it frustrating as I wanted to change the generic green of the Modules to my custom blue color to tie all my content together. Although I couldn’t make those changes, an addition I was able to make to my course pertained to the course homepage navigational buttons. Using Photoshop, I designed navigational buttons that incorporate my custom blue for the background color; instead of the generic black that Canvas provides. I think it really pops and adds a touch of professionalism to the course look.

Another challenge I faced was deciding how to layout my modules page so that it made the most sense navigationally to students. My peer reviewer supplied some great ideas on how I could do this. In the end, I added some headers to divide the assignments for each week and modified the titles of each assignment. This way students can clearly see what is due each week and the order it should be completed in. I think it will help students move smoothly through the course.

What do I still need to do? Well, I need to finish revising my course based upon my peer’s feedback and supply her with some as well. I will also need to revise my job aid based upon peer feedback. I really do think that overall the course is useful and will provide an advantage to our instruction in my current job.

As we are in Week 13 of a 16-week semester, it is looking unlikely that I will be able to implement and evaluate the course. My colleagues have said that they would like to implement the course in the coming Spring semester so I am looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. I am excited to hear actual student feedback and be able to use it to improve the course structure and content. All in all, I have enjoyed learning how to make an online course from scratch. It has supplied me with new skills and insight into the world of instructional design.

Reference

Pixabay. (2016). Number counter [Digital image]. Retrieved from https://pixabay.com/en/number-counter-mechanical-display-32258/

Categories: LTEC 5510 | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Through stories

Scott's blog about teaching, learning, games, film...

ITFORUM Jobs

Part of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology

JHartpence

learning & development

E Learning with Ali

Ideas, thoughts, research, and reflections on learning technologies, instructional design, and online learning

DominikMikula.com

Entrepreneur, Globetrotter, Thrill Seeker...

idapriyanto

one step ahead

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Brain2Overloaded

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Communities of Learners

Nerd by nature; Librarian by choice!

Ke'shun's Blog

"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school." Albert Einstein

